Ben Nicholson

1934 (relief) 1934 by Ben Nicholson OM 1894-1982

Nicholson’s work can be related to the concept of ‘constructivism’ which was initially influenced by Picasso’s cubist style and eventually grew to reflect the growing industrial world.

By removing decorative qualities such as bright colours, prints and textures, Nicholson 1935was able to focus more on the mathematical precision of his work. His reliefs explore the idea of depth and by using the blank, white sheets of card, the shadows seen emphasise the concept of depth, shape and form.

I’ll be turning my attention mainly to these reliefs as I can compare them with Eduardo Paolozzi’s reliefs and use the shapes of my photographed machinery in future experiments.

Above show my initial attempts at some card reliefs in a similar style to Ben Nicholson. I used white card and layered the different shapes to gain shadows in certain lighting which I think was really effective. I deliberately used more complex shapes than Nicholson does as I know I want to use the machinery imagery so these card reliefs are transitions between the two styles.


 

Leave a comment