Plaster Casting Manchinery

IMG_7553I wanted to use the experience I had gained when previously casting in IMG_7606other projects to produce a more drastic 3D piece as opposed to the card reliefs. These plaster reliefs were initially inspired by Paolozzi’s detailed reliefs and after researching Tinguely, I really wanted to include some parts of actual machinery and systems in my work.

Before a cast is revealed, a mould needs to be made for the eventual material to form the shape of the object. The mould making material needs to be a release agent and can vary from silicone, latex, clay and alginate depending on how much detail is required. I decided to use alginate as I had previously worked with it and I knew it would really work with the detailed parts of the engine. Containers were filled with alginate and I submerged the engine parts into it, only having 2 minutes to position them before the alginate. Once it had fully dried, the objects were then cut out of the alginate.

These plaster casts can’t really be compared to previous casts I’ve done with alginate because wax was used to fill in those moulds. I was overall pleased with the outcome of the casts as they mainly showed defined features and after sanding down and cutting off the rough edges, they gave off the clean-cut style of Paolozzi’s work.

Leave a comment